top of page
  • Writer's pictureVeronica Cline Barton

Veronica's #WritersDiary: The Merry, Merry Month of May!


"I used to be Snow White, but I drifted..."

Mae West



Well, hello, May! I thought I'd kick off the discussion and giggles today with a bit of 'Mae' humor, LOL. Miss West never fails to tell it like it is. We're ten days into this final month of spring and it has come in with a bang! #MayDay





Let's talk about the Met Gala held on May 1st...Coming off my latest, runway, mystery-murder-spree tale that included its own, explosive gala, I was really looking forward to the glitz and glam the 'real-deal' Met Gala brings.


This year's event was in tribute to Karl Lagerfeld, the visionary designer of Chanel. I have to say, this red carpet (which was actually white) left a little (read a lot) to be desired when it came to breathtaking couture. The brilliance of previous years was sorely missing IMHO. Most of the gowns were rather meh at best and more 'haute-couture filth' as described by one columnist! Kind of sad when the standout outfit of the evening worn by Jared Leto 👆was a furry replica of Karl's millionaire heir cat, Choupette... #Meow


And, there's a new king and queen in town, congratulations to His Majesty, King Charles III and Queen Camilla! As all self-respecting, almost-royal fans must do when living in California, I was up in the wee hours to watch the king and his queen officially assume their reign.


As a follower of all thing's drama royale, I was curious to see if Harry the Spare (#WAAGH) would actually show up (he did, but luckily Princess Anne's red feather came to the rescue, LOL #Feathergate), and of course was on pins and needles to see if Catherine, Princess of Wales, was really going to wear flowers in her hair in lieu of a tiara (Gasp!).



I'm happy to report she did wear flowers, but bespoke ones of embroidered finery with sparkly crystals and sequins (tiaras weren't worn for this service). Princess Charlotte also wore a mini-me version of HRH Catherine's adornment and looked adorbs! Congratulations and crowns off to our UK friends--you know how to throw a show most royal!









A fine time was had by 'y'all' at the 149th Run for the Roses gathering of University of Louisville alumni in SoCal. After a 3-year, C-19 hiatus, we were back to the hats and mint juleps! Congrats to MAGE, the winner of this year's Kentucky Derby!










Just ten more days 'til we set sail on our Viking cruise through the Arctic! This is our first international trip since lockdown, and I am so excited to see the northern most regions of the planet. I've checked the weather maps daily--I'm going to get my cold temps, LOL. Boots are doin' the happy dance!


Pssst...I wanted to mention the little lady in the feature pic at the top of the page--she's providing some southern inspiration for book 9 in my cozy series. Guess who has the book cover designed for the new tale? #Squee I wonder what Gemma will be up to next? This story is developing...


Wishing you a merry, merry month of May! It's Wednesday, time for #DearDiary:


A Spring Refresh is Underway!

The work continues in my quest to update the seller pages of my series. I'm working once again with the Book Khalesi, Eeva Lancaster, to work her book promo magic! Consistency of brand and messaging are key, and it's already paid off with new sales and the all-important book reviews on the Zon! Speaking of which, thank you readers for the awesome reviews! 💖👑



Nefarious forces are out to cause havoc to a new queen and two cousins are out to solve a murder mystery this week from the writers of Twitter...


Author Wendy Bayne, Chasing Shadows, 5

As the new queen begins her reign, the future of the Agency is under review. Nothing is assured as nefarious forces want it brought down. The hunt is on to find out who is behind the destructive quest. When a colleague travels to the Vatican to look for secret documents that might provide valuable links goes missing, Lissa, Miles and the Brotherhood members sail off to Italy to track him down.

A tangled web of political intrigue and subterfuge thwart their efforts. Who can be trusted, and who has a deadly mission of their own? Lissa and Miles are in a race against time to uncover the vengeful plans that would bring down the Agency and threaten the future reign of the young queen. Will they succeed, or will history take an unexpected turn?

Author Bayne once again pens a clever, historical fiction tale of mystery and intrigue. I've become quite fond of the unlikely entourage of adventurous characters and their exciting journeys and quests. Chasing Shadows is another 'jewel' addition to the Crimes Against the Crown series. A highly recommended book and series for fans of historical fiction, mysterious adventures, family drama, and a dash of romance.


Author Joy York, The Bloody Shoe Affair, 5

When Christi travels with her family to attend the upcoming anniversary party for her grandparents, she is filled with a bit of angst. She'll be staying with her adventurous cousin, Lily in the days before the celebration. Lily's bent on learning the details behind a secretive mystery that has swept the dark halls of the jailhouse next-door. As the jailer's daughter, she's determined to find out what really happened when a man is arrested for killing his wife.

As the two cousins uncover the clues behind the crime, not all is what it seems. Secret liaisons and deceptions run deep. Christi, Lily and their friends are determined to find out the truth, but will their sleuthing come to a deadly end when they get too close to the ne'er-do-wells?

Author York weaves an exciting whodunnit that I found hard to put down. It's a perfect read for youngsters (of all ages) who love unravelling a baffling set of events, shady suspects, and clues at every turn. The cousins are charming and come into their own as they uncover the details behind the grisly mystery. Their bravado and intuitive skills are to be admired, and the whimsy of their friendships and hint of young romance (tasteful at all times) is charming and will bring a smile to your face. For fans of Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden mysteries, this is a must read!


Next up in the reading queue:


Congratulations to Author Bibiana Krall on her #NewRelease Quantum-C!






May Showtime: A Movie and a Play!


First up, Dame Agatha Christie's play, The Mousetrap! We were able to attend the performance at the Camino Real Playhouse in nearby San Juan Capistrano this past Sunday. This was the final showing of this production and I'm so glad we were able to go.


The play was performed at ground level (no stage)--with the audience around the perimeter, talk about a ringside seat! The actors were fab and there's nothing like a Dame Agatha mystery. Well done all!





Our first film in a movie theater for 2023 will be Book Club: The Next Chapter! The ladies are back and this time, we're off to Italy for some pre-nuptial antics. The preview trailer looks hilarious and the scenery...well I can't wait to see the sights and shenanigans in Italy. Slightly Scandalous, Totally Fabulous---coming up on Mother's Day!



Welcome to my world. Until next time, have a good one!


Crowns and Kisses,

Veronica


P.S. Speaking of the merry, merry month of May, wishing all of you a fabulous Mother's Day this coming Sunday! Gemma and Rikkhe approve 💖👑


P.S.S. Next post will be from the shores of Norway! I can't wait to share the pics!



26 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page